All Of My Days Have Been Misspent
Stuffing Out The Sofa
index
archives
DISCLAIMER
profile
guestbook
surveys
rings
messageboard
63 things about me
64-113 things about me
buttons
ticket stubs
cast
soundtrack
dvds
books
cds
nostalgia
pets
pet peeves
more pet peeves
a pug story
a nipple story
sarcasm
condensed bio
stalkers
my country
photos
pet quiz
email
notes
host

Aesthetics

2004-06-02 & 11:54 p.m.


For years now since we have owned our house, I have decorated it for the aesthetics, to look pretty. I was lured into this false sense that despite owning 4 dogs, 4 cats and a 20 something year old male, I would be able to maintain a pleasing to the eye home environment with nice furniture in arrangements that would promote conversation and accentuate the focus points of the room. Today I entered into a new phase. I was enlightened to a stage of nirvana I hadn't felt until now. I said, "Fuck it."

I moved the dining room table so that you can comfortably eat and see the television. No more sitting on the couch and eating off the coffee table for us. We will sit in chairs and eat at a table designed for actual eating. Not some table named after a beverage that neither my husband nor I partake in.

I moved the cat tree that the cats never used from the cat room to in front of the window. Since I moved the tree out of the "CAT ROOM", it has been occupied by all 4 cats at least 3 times at one point in the 2 hours since the move commenced.

I decided that someone should dine in the "dining room" and since that was not going to be my husband or me because the table was facing the television, I moved all the dog dishes and food into the dining room and created an entire doggie buffet area.

I decided to do all these things because I realized no one was coming over. No one was visiting. This is my home and if I want to put the dining table facing the television I can do that. If I want to have a cat tree be the first thing you see when you walk into my house I can do that too. I look over at the doggie buffet and I smile.



What Do You Have to Say About It?



<<<< relive my past & step into the future >>>>

Wilted Tulip - 2005-08-10
"Mullets of America: Step Away From this Femme" - 2005-05-27
I�m the dyke who will give it to you - 2005-05-11
Trail Mix - 2005-05-04
Can I be random? - 2005-04-27