All Of My Days Have Been Misspent
Stuffing Out The Sofa
index
archives
DISCLAIMER
profile
guestbook
surveys
rings
messageboard
63 things about me
64-113 things about me
buttons
ticket stubs
cast
soundtrack
dvds
books
cds
nostalgia
pets
pet peeves
more pet peeves
a pug story
a nipple story
sarcasm
condensed bio
stalkers
my country
photos
pet quiz
email
notes
host

A Major Problem

2004-02-18 & 2:18 p.m.


Alright so America has a serious problem. Okay America has several, numerous, alrighty an inifite amount of problems but I want to discuss one that directly effects me on a daily basis. In no other country of the world are pets treated the way they are treated in America. I am talking about good and bad treatment. No other country spends so much money on pet care/supplies/etc. On the other hand, no other country has as many homeless animals as America. The United States of America has more "animal shelters" than the rest of the world combined. Why are animals so highly revered by so many and also considered disposable by many? I don't understand it. Why do people buy or adopt pets only to turn around and want to give them away?

There are days when my dogs drive me crazy. Alright my dogs drive me crazy everyday but I love them so you put up with it. If your child was acting up you wouldn't go drop it off at the shelter because it was too much. That is ridiculous and it is ridiculous that this happens to millions of animals yearly.

Another thing people don't realize is how this effects the animals. As an "owner" of 3 "rescued" pets, I can tell you this damages them severely, psychologically and sometimes physically. My purchased dog, Charlie, has always been content and mostly unneurotic. He was a little crazy but he is a pug and that's the way they are. The purchased from puppyhood dogs that I dogsit are content to lay around and don't follow me around neurotically everyday. They don't wake up every single time I move. They don't follow my every move with their eyes to make sure I am not leaving. They are content to be out in the backyard without me standing on the porch with them. However, my "rescued" dogs are so afraid of being abandoned because they have been once before or as in Brynn's case, 3 times before she was even 9 months old. They are constantly seeking my approval, they are afraid to be anywhere I am not, and I cannot kennel them or they try to injure themselves to break free.

They are scarred by America's disposable attitude towards pets and together we will always suffer the aftereffects of another person's mistreatment of them. I don't think they will ever realize that I love them and that I will not abandon them.


What Do You Have to Say About It?



<<<< relive my past & step into the future >>>>

Wilted Tulip - 2005-08-10
"Mullets of America: Step Away From this Femme" - 2005-05-27
I�m the dyke who will give it to you - 2005-05-11
Trail Mix - 2005-05-04
Can I be random? - 2005-04-27