All Of My Days Have Been Misspent
Stuffing Out The Sofa
index
archives
DISCLAIMER
profile
guestbook
surveys
rings
messageboard
63 things about me
64-113 things about me
buttons
ticket stubs
cast
soundtrack
dvds
books
cds
nostalgia
pets
pet peeves
more pet peeves
a pug story
a nipple story
sarcasm
condensed bio
stalkers
my country
photos
pet quiz
email
notes
host

Jumping the shark.......

2003-12-26 & 11:01 p.m.


Grommit is humping my friend's pug. Not the girl pug...the boy. I know, I know..dominance..but either way Grommit never humps the girls. My dog is gay. I am going to join PFLAG'D (Parents and Friends of Lesbian and Gay Dogs). What hurts me is he hasn't bothered to tell me. He just goes around humping other dogs in my presence and frankly, that's just rude.

So GolfWidow pointed me towards the Jump the Shark website in which it lists the point when various television shows began to go downhill but executing certain deadly sitcom mistakes. Now I have some greivances with this website. It has a list of shows that never jumped the shark and therefore it qualifies them as stand outs or exceptional shows. Alright, here is where I start to pick at them a little. One show they list, Freaks and Geeks..now I know this is a cult favorite and it was a good show...but it wasn't on long enough that it should be considered for some list such as this. The list also lists all these shitty shows that people hated but never commited any of the fatal errors. This hardly makes them classics. This site also claims that the Mary Tyler Moore Show jumped the shark when Mary moved into a new apartment. I strongly disagree that Mary Tyler Moore ever declined at all. Up until the end it maintained excellent ratings, won Emmy awards and had an episode that had one of the longest recorded laughs in television history ("Chuckles Bites The Dust" also voted by Nick At Nite as the 3rd funniest episode of any show all time.) Now I say that show never jumped the shark. Also they say that the Daily Show jumped the shark when Craig Kilborn left. I hate Craig Kilborn. I love Jon Stewart and since Jon has been hosting it is now an Emmy award winning series. There are various other ones I disagree with but overall I think this site has some biases that cause their judging to be screwed up. Also they said Friends jumped the shark when Ross and Rachel got together...no they jumped the shark when Chandler and Monica got together and then they jumped the shark again with the Joey/Rachel thing. Overall, I will be sad to see Friends go but it is time. I know it...the same thing happened with Golden Girls. It was sad but it was time. I greived but I got over it and there is always syndication.


What Do You Have to Say About It?



<<<< relive my past & step into the future >>>>

Wilted Tulip - 2005-08-10
"Mullets of America: Step Away From this Femme" - 2005-05-27
I�m the dyke who will give it to you - 2005-05-11
Trail Mix - 2005-05-04
Can I be random? - 2005-04-27